US Flag SATURDAY, APRIL 01, 2023
IMAGE: "Sawtooth National Forest - Stanley, Idaho"


District of Idaho

Clerk of Court Stephen W. Kenyon

Public 2 New
U.S. Courts District of Idaho Seal
Coronavirus (COVID-19) Court Operations (1304)

The United States District and Bankruptcy Courts for the District of Idaho as well as Probation and Pretrial announce operating with reduced staff.  For full details, please visit the COVID-19 Information section of this website. 

Anyone who is experiencing COVID like symptoms or who has tested positive for COVID within the last 10 days must report this to the Court Security Officers at the entrance to any courthouse.  In general, masking will be in accordance with CDC guidance and whether masks are required in any individual courthouse is outlined below. Please refer to General Order No. 419 for how the Court will operate during the different risk levels.

Current Level: Green
Courthouse: Open
Gatherings: No Limitation
Masking: Optional
Coeur d'Alene
Current Level: Green
Courthouse: Open
Gatherings: No Limitation
Masking: Optional
Current Level: Green
Courthouse: Open
Gatherings: No Limitation
Masking: Optional
Idaho Legal History Society
Byron J. Johnson Award

Idaho Legal History Society’s
Byron J. Johnson Award

In 2007, the Idaho Legal History Society created the Byron J. Johnson Award to recognize individuals whose contributions have significantly advanced the purposes of the Idaho Legal History Society in fostering understanding and appreciation for Idaho's legal history. 

The award, named after Idaho Supreme Court Justice Byron J. Johnson, who passed away in December 2012, is in recognition of the many years of service that he provided in collecting, preserving and disseminating information regarding Idaho's rich legal history.

Award Recipients:

2007 – Rita Ryan, Founding Chair of ILHS Oral History Project

            Mike Silva, Spontaneous Productions, Inc.; Writer/Director,
            The Gate on 16th Avenue

            Susie Boring-Headlee, Founding ILHS Secretary/Treasurer
            Producer, The Gate on 16th Avenue

2008 – Dave Metcalf, Author and Presenter of Historical Presentation of Diamondfield Jack

2009 – Scott W. Reed, Barry McHugh and Teresa McHugh, Historical Art Committee,
            U.S. Federal Courthouse, Coeur d'Alene, Idaho

2010 – Gary Stallones, Original Developer and Webmaster of ILHS Website

2011 – Claudia Druss, Debora K. Kristensen and Eric White

2012 and 2013 No Recipients

2016 - J. Walt Sinclair and Nancy Hammond

2017- Honorable Ronald J. Wilper

Your browser is Navigator .0 running on using the IP of (
Glossary of Legal Terms | Privacy Policy