United States District Court

Chief Judge David C. Nye welcomes you to the U.S. District Court for the District of Idaho.  In 1891 James H. Beatty was appointed by President Harrison to become the first Federal Judge for the District of Idaho.  We have a long and proud history rooted in our commitment to provide an impartial and accessible forum for the just, timely and economical resolution of legal proceedings within the jurisdiction of the Courts.

The District of Idaho has had 11 Article III Judges appointed by the President of the United States, with two of them currently presiding.  In addition to our two Article III Judges, we have three Magistrate Judges assisting with our busy workload.

Our judges hold court in BoiseCoeur d'Alene, and Pocatello.

District Court Calendar

The calendar updates as new information becomes available and is subject to change without notice. To schedule a hearing, contact the courtroom deputy.

"Maintain Your ECF Account"
Jun 20, 2019
Reminder to Attorneys to Update ECF Accounts
The District of Idaho courthouses closed - July 4
Jun 20, 2019
The District of Idaho courthouses will be closed on Thursday, July 4 in observance of Independence Day.
U.S. Trustee Program seeking AUST for Boise office
Jun 11, 2019

2019 Civics Contest Finalists Announced
Jun 04, 2019
"The 4th Amendment in the 21st Century - What is an Unreasonable Search and Seizure in the Digital Age?"
Word Perfect
Jun 04, 2019
Word Perfect documents no longer accepted by Idaho District and Bankruptcy Courts beginning August 1, 2019
Notice: Dollar Amounts and Forms Changes 4/1/19
Feb 20, 2019
Please read the attached Notice regarding automatic adjustments to certain dollar amounts and amended forms set for April 1, 2019.