United States District Court

Chief Judge David C. Nye welcomes you to the U.S. District Court for the District of Idaho.  In 1891 James H. Beatty was appointed by President Harrison to become the first Federal Judge for the District of Idaho.  We have a long and proud history rooted in our commitment to provide an impartial and accessible forum for the just, timely and economical resolution of legal proceedings within the jurisdiction of the Courts.

The District of Idaho has had 11 Article III Judges appointed by the President of the United States, with two of them currently presiding.  In addition to our two Article III Judges, we have two Magistrate Judges assisting with our busy workload.

Our judges hold court in BoiseCoeur d'Alene, and Pocatello.

District Court Calendar

The calendar updates as new information becomes available and is subject to change without notice. To schedule a hearing, contact the courtroom deputy.

District of Idaho Courthouses Closed -- July 4
Jun 21, 2022
GO 417 Extending CARES Act Provisions
Jun 21, 2022
Renewing GO 363 and extending the CARES Act provisions in criminal proceedings by 90 days.
Ninth Circuit Civics Contest Finalists Announced
May 16, 2022
Finalists for the 2022 Ninth Circuit Civics Contest finalists have been announced, including the District winners.
Judge Dale Named 2022 Distinguished Jurist
May 12, 2022