United States District & Bankruptcy Courts
Federal Holidays
2017 Federal Holidays

The court will be closed for business in observance of the following holidays:

New Year's Day Sunday, January 1
New Year's Day (observed) Monday, January 2*
Martin Luther King Day Monday, January 16
Washington's Birthday Monday, February 20**
Memorial Day Monday, May 29
Independence Day Tuesday, July 4
Labor Day Monday, September 4
Columbus Day Monday, October 9
Veterans Day (observed) Friday, November 10***
Veterans Day Saturday, November 11
Thanksgiving Day Thursday, November 23
Christmas Day Monday, December 25

 

*January 1, 2017 (the legal public holiday for New Year’s Day), falls on a Sunday. For most Federal employees, Monday, January 2, will be treated as a holiday for pay and leave purposes. (See section 3(a) of Executive order 11582, February 11, 1971.)

** This holiday is designated as "Washington’s Birthday" in section 6103(a) of title 5 of the United States Code, which is the law that specifies holidays for Federal employees. Though other institutions such as state and local governments and private businesses may use other names, it is our policy to always refer to holidays by the names designated in the law.

*** November 11, 2017 (the legal public holiday for Veterans Day), falls on a Saturday. For most Federal employees, Friday, November 10, will be treated as a holiday for pay and leave purposes. (See 5 U.S.C. 6103(b).)


2018 Federal Holidays

The court will be closed for business in observance of the following holidays:

New Year's Day Monday, January 1
Martin Luther King Day Monday, January 15
Presidents' Birthday Monday, February 19*
Memorial Day Monday, May 28
Independence Day Wednesday, July 4
Labor Day Monday, September 3
Columbus Day Monday, October 8
Veterans Day Monday, November 12**
Thanksgiving Day Thursday, November 22
Christmas Day Tuesday, December 25

 

* This holiday is designated as "Washington’s Birthday" in section 6103(a) of title 5 of the United States Code, which is the law that specifies holidays for Federal employees. Though other institutions such as state and local governments and private businesses may use other names, it is our policy to always refer to holidays by the names designated in the law.

** November 11, 2018 (the legal public holiday for Veterans Day), falls on a Sunday. For most Federal employees, Monday, November 12, will be treated as a holiday for pay and leave purposes. (See section 3(a) of Executive order 11582, February 11, 1971.)